JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
rhibee (Offline)
New to JF

HOW ARE JAPANESE HORROR FILMS DIFFERENT FROM WESTERN ONES? please reply - 05-07-2009, 08:50 AM

Hello I am a media student in Britain and am conducting research into how japanese culture affects their horror films and how this is different to american ones. For example, yurei and kabuki theatre make-up have influence in Ju-On.

Do you think these films are better than Hollywood ones?
If so why?

Thank you
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

05-07-2009, 08:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhibee View Post
Hello I am a media student in Britain and am conducting research into how japanese culture affects their horror films and how this is different to american ones. For example, yurei and kabuki theatre make-up have influence in Ju-On.

If so why?

Thank you
The beginning of the answer of your question comes from seeing the movie Kwaidan.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kwaidan_(film)
(#3 (permalink))
Old
rhibee (Offline)
New to JF

cheers - 05-07-2009, 09:03 AM

thanks for your help Ill check it out
(#4 (permalink))
Old
TenmaAi (Offline)
Demon_Love

Send a message via MSN to TenmaAi
05-07-2009, 10:21 AM

Lol i'm not good at this xD
But ever seen the grudge ? ( Ju-On (or something) = Japenese version) The Western version really really sucked in comparison with the Japanese one. ( My opinion ofcourse) But you can clearly see the different styles there when you watch the two!

xD Hope you're getting a little bit further with this xD

Bye's from Belgium!

....[VampiSupporter]....
x3 The Belgium Trio x3
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Troo (Offline)
JF Old Timer

05-07-2009, 10:44 AM

My area's film studies rather than the wider-reading media studies, but hopefully I can help.

Quote:
This is as huge a can of worms as the question "What is Britishness?" Is this for a short essay, a month of coursework, or a year's project?