JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
redline (Offline)
JF Regular

Kendo? - 12-22-2009, 10:06 AM

I was thinking of starting. I know its completely different than non-armed MA sports, but how easy do you think it will be for me to jump into considering I have a muay thai background?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Sangetsu (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

12-22-2009, 10:27 AM

Kendo is nothing like Muay Thai, but it's not difficult to "jump into", especially if you are taking classes in Japan.

Where I studied Kendo, they wouldn't accept anyone with less than a brown belt in karate, so it was pretty much off-limits to new students. Most schools are not like this, and more than likely they are more than willing to accept students with no experience in the Japanese martial arts.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Sinestra (Offline)
ショ ン

Send a message via AIM to Sinestra Send a message via Yahoo to Sinestra
12-22-2009, 03:22 PM

I originally came from Fencing backround and had no experience in Japanese martial arts. But i took to Kendo quite fast and enjoyed it a lot more than fencing but i had already had the basics of footwork down. Like anything training is the key mentally and physically. I would say try it out and see if you like it you will never know unless you give it a shot.

(#4 (permalink))
Old
WhoIsDaffy (Offline)
Banned

12-28-2009, 01:24 PM

@Sinestra

I too have done Fencing (mwha parrp, parry, parry , Reposte!)
feeling the epee (thats target foil ,plus head and arms right? - its been a while)

i always wondered who would win between kendo and fencing.
i feel if it was in a narrow corridor fencing would p0wn

but in an open field Kendo probably has the edge.

however, Kendo has the power,
Fencing the speed.

as you have done both,
I'd be interested to hear your views on this.

Last edited by WhoIsDaffy : 12-28-2009 at 01:26 PM. Reason: video google "kendo vs fencing" shows JPN film, fencing win!
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Tenchu (Offline)
-