JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Melpy (Offline)
New to JF

Going to Japan in 11 months, looking for language aid - 10-01-2008, 06:51 PM

I'm in my third year of Japanese right now, but for the past two years I had a pretty bad teacher who didn't teach us very well. This year we have a new teacher, and she's from Japan. Last year my family and I hosted a Japanese exchange student for about 11 months. Next September I am planning to go to Japan for 2-3 weeks to visit my exchange student in Nagoya and some of my family in southern Japan.

To help me prepare for this trip, I want to start practicing my Japanese more! Is there anyone who is willing to converse and correct with me?

はじめまして! 名前 は アマンダです。十八 さい です。 ワシングトンにすんでいます。 日本語 はむ ずかしいですが、大すきです。 私は日本は来年に行き ます。 (Is that last sentence correct? I was trying to say, "I am going to Japan next year." ) 日本語のクラブのメンバーです。Please help me practice my Japanese for my trip! どうぞよろしく!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
filiadragongurl (Offline)
Japan Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to filiadragongurl
10-04-2008, 01:04 PM

Hello^_^ I'd like to give a little advice for you introduction and such. The first bit, はじめまして, is fine^_^ After that though, it seems a little clunky in Japanese to *literally* say "my name is..." so it would be better to say "アマンダと申します(もうします)". (What I wrote in parenthesis is the hiragana for that last word.) The next couple of lines are fine, though you could combine them instead of saying such short sentences.

Now, that sentence you were worried about is indeed wrong, but really it's just 'cause the order needs to be a little better. I would say "来年私は日本に行き ます". The important part here is that you get "nihon" to match up with "ni ikimasu" without getting that extra wa in there.