JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
SHAD0W (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

Japanese girl looking for English help in exchange of japanese! - 11-21-2008, 04:28 PM

Right, Now I've got your attention of

" kawaiisugoipockylololol!!11!111oneoneoneeleven clan"

And that of everyone else who can’t speak a word of Japanese on this website. I'd like to make an announcement. On most the threads I post in here I come across as an annoying, opinionated, sarcastic tool who’s job it is to complain and put other people down. While most of the above is true I'm not a bad person and I'd like to take this moment to redeem myself.

My Japanese isn’t brilliant, far from it in fact and in no way am I in a position to teach people how to speak the language. However.. I'm going to use this thread to tell others how I am studying and hopefully people with the same learning styles as me can catch on and together we can make JF a better place. I’ve studied Japanese for over a year now, so you could say I was a beginner like yourselves if it makes you feel better?

First of all, lose the crap that Japanese language is mystical and amazing. Yeah it’s cool but if Naruto was made in Germany or Kenya, JF would be a lot quieter without you lot bumming it. Yes it’s cool because it’s complex and minimalistic at the same time and it uses weird symbols that you have never seen before and tend to blur into each other when you first see them. Then you start to wonder how in the world anyone could write “ 紫 ” instead of “purple”.

Look at this:

Interior
Inferior

Two words that look very similar - especially to a foreigner. Only very slight changes to how you write each “character” and you get two very different words with two very different meanings. You can manage to look at these words as a whole and instantly know their meanings and pronunciations, Kanji is the same.

Now that’s over with, onto the actual language.