JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
TaiMai (Offline)
New to JF

Relocation... The Film Industry In Japan... Cost Of Living... - 11-27-2007, 08:05 PM

I am a filmmaker from the United States wanting to relocate to Japan.

Presently, I am in England finishing my degree in Film and Television Production. Once finished, I plan on going back to the States for a few years, continue working and saving my earnings, move to Japan, and find work over there... you know, build up my career and all that frank zappa jazz...

I don’t see this happening any earlier than mid-2009.

Anyways, because of my degree (or, degree-to-be) I presume it makes me a more worthy-candidate for employment in Japan. I'm familiar with foreign entry policies and the like, and about how most foreign employers disregard CV’s and Resumes with no certifiable degrees attached. I’m sure Japan is no different...

Now on to the questions...

Without even reading anything beforehand, I assume one must obtain a workers permit (or visa) through their employer before entry to the country. That’s usually how the cookie crumbles... but to make sure, can someone clarify with me on this?

I’ve also heard that Japan does NOT require US citizens to purchase a Visa if staying no more than 90 days... is this correct? Partially correct? Does that mean I can fly to Japan, basically with just my passport and my luggage for 90 days whilst I search for employment?

Also (if anyone here knows), how big is the movie/television industry in Japan, and how high is the demand for skilled people in that line of work?

And to make it known, I am familiar a little bit of Japanese... though, I’ve forgotten most of what I was taught back in High School (granted I'm 21 now, so it has been 3 years)... I started up again with a program called Rosetta Stone/ Japanese Edition. So hopefully, by 2009 I won’t be as ignorant about the language as I am now.