JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
davidvoyage (Offline)
New to JF

Thinking of moving to Japan - 07-21-2008, 09:22 PM

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum. For your information, I was born in Hong Kong and living in Canada right now. I graduated with a degree in computer science in one of the top University in Canada. However, right now I'm thinking of changing career to Accounting. So I guess I'll stay in Canada for 4 more years in order to get an accounting designation (CGA) first before actually moving to Japan.

I know 3 languages, Chinese, English and French.

In order to prepare for moving to Japan in 4-5 years, I need to know what I need to prepare etc... Can I find an accounting job with CGA accounting designation?

Thanks.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
godwine (Offline)
自爆十秒前

07-22-2008, 12:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidvoyage View Post
Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum. For your information, I was born in Hong Kong and living in Canada right now. I graduated with a degree in computer science in one of the top University in Canada. However, right now I'm thinking of changing career to Accounting. So I guess I'll stay in Canada for 4 more years in order to get an accounting designation (CGA) first before actually moving to Japan.

I know 3 languages, Chinese, English and French.

In order to prepare for moving to Japan in 4-5 years, I need to know what I need to prepare etc... Can I find an accounting job with CGA accounting designation?

Thanks.
Nice, same background here.. nice to meet you pal The only exception is that i decided to stay in IT/Engineering and didn't change my field

I don't know my about accounting, though both my sister and my brother in law are licenses CA, and they both told me (at some point) that a CGA is pretty much useless, your best bet is to get a CFA or CA designation.