JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
mike2519 (Offline)
New to JF

Oh well - teaching English again... - 07-22-2008, 06:05 AM

Hi there,

I wouldn't post this one if I had found an answer already. For some reason, most people don't want to teach English. I DO!!

Unfortunately, I'm neither a university nor a college graduate. And I'm German. However, I graduated from a US high school and went to college for a year (and two more in Germany). So, my pronunciation is similar to that of an American native. I hold a 120 hrs TEFL certificate (with a letter of recommendation), and I worked at a Thai Catholic high school for one semester. For the last 2 years, I've been working for an English media group in Thailand.

Now, I'd like to get to know Japan, but where do I go from here? Are there any agencies that can place teachers with schools? What are their requirements? Would it be better for me to teach German instead? How do working conditions/living costs differ when comparing country side to urban areas?

Many questions...maybe someone knows who I should get in contact with. Any suggestion is highly appreciated.

Danke schön!
mike2519

Justice for all!

Last edited by mike2519 : 07-22-2008 at 06:20 AM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
SSJup81 (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

Send a message via ICQ to SSJup81 Send a message via AIM to SSJup81 Send a message via MSN to SSJup81 Send a message via Yahoo to SSJup81 Send a message via Skype™ to SSJup81
07-22-2008, 06:28 AM

Wow, you have a lot of experience. I'm sorry I can't be of help, but I'm sure one of the topics around here might can give you an idea. One thing I do know of, is that you need a Visa in order to go there, naturally, and usually, one needs a Bachelor's degree to qualify for the Visa. Of course, there's always the other way, where you get hired through a company, and that company sponsors you and then obtain a Visa that way.