JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
catharsix (Offline)
New to JF

Buying a Computer? - 07-12-2008, 07:03 AM

So I am an American graduate student of the University of Illinois, currently residing in japan to do research at Todai for a year or so.

I am strongly considering buying a new computer, as the laptop I brought with me is begining to get a bit long in the tooth, and I could use an upgrade. I am a bit wary of buying one here though, in light of the cost of shipping it back to the USA in another year and a half or so, and also because I am not very computer-savvy; I have enough problems with computers in my native language of English! Any problems with a Japanese-language interface etc. could cause me serious frustration. ( I do speak/read Japanese, but it's not perfect, and like I said, I'm all thumbs when it comes to computers).

Does anyone else out there have any advice? Has anyone gone through this process before? Would it, in fact, be very expensive to get any new computer back to the USA with me when I return?

Any advice or thoughts greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time in advance.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

07-12-2008, 07:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by catharsix View Post
So I am an American graduate student of the University of Illinois, currently residing in japan to do research at Todai for a year or so.

I am strongly considering buying a new computer, as the laptop I brought with me is begining to get a bit long in the tooth, and I could use an upgrade. I am a bit wary of buying one here though, in light of the cost of shipping it back to the USA in another year and a half or so, and also because I am not very computer-savvy; I have enough problems with computers in my native language of English! Any problems with a Japanese-language interface etc. could cause me serious frustration. ( I do speak/read Japanese, but it's not perfect, and like I said, I'm all thumbs when it comes to computers).