JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Polkigtry (Offline)
New to JF

The Japan Plan: Need Ex-Jet Advice - 07-17-2008, 08:41 PM

First off, yes I am planning on moving to Japan. (Yes another one of those) For at least 2 years, and possibly, I would like it to become my home.
I am not a super-anime fan, nor is any other Japanese pop-culture related craze the reason for my plan. I want a challenge in life, and this sounds like what I'm looking for.

Im currently a University Student about to start my Junior year. My major is in Performing Arts (Acting). While I wish to perform, I also wish to teach drama. Obviously there is not much of a market for that in Japan, I love teaching, so I would still be happy with teaching English.

My current plan (been hatching it for 2 years, and now I'm planning for completion in the next 2) is: (In a nutshell ofcourse)
Now: Start intense study of Japanese Language (in progress)
School Year 2008-2009:Speak with professors about TA possibilities.
Winter 2009: achieve my TESOL and possibly a further specialization
Summer of 2009: if funds permit, visit Japan
Fall of 2009: Start Senior Year, Gather all materials to begin application to Jet program.
Winter 2010: Intense study of Japanese History, aspects of living in Japan
Spring 2010: Graduate, Pray for acceptance in Jet, if not accepted, start finding someone else who will take me.
Whilst in Japan: achieve master in general education online over 2-year period.

One of my questions is for the Ex-Jetters. What I was really hoping for while in Japan was the opportunity to act! Just the odd appearance here or their if they like me. However, the Jet program states no outside work. Any thoughts? If I ever did get hired for a role, maybe I could go pro-bono(possible?), it's really all about the spotlight/experience for me. Mind you, finding time to do this outside of teaching.
Any advice/stories/ideas would be greatly appreciated.