JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Jazmyne (Offline)
New to JF

Please Help - Homestay family needed - 07-29-2008, 03:52 AM

Hi,

I am a female American student who has studied Japanese for two years. I was accepted into ICU, but they did not give me a place to stay.

I am looking for a host family near International Christian University. It is in Mitaka-shi.

Is anyone a host family or willing to help me look for a host family? I will be in Japan for a year, and I am coming in September. Even if someone cannot host me for the full year, I really would like some place to stay when I get there.

I have searched for countless hours on the internet trying to find some. All the ones I have found have been either more expensive than an apartment or an hour or more from the school. Is that distance common for people staying with host families?

Thanks for your time.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Hatredcopter (Offline)
In the middle of nowhere!

07-29-2008, 04:33 AM

Host families being that distant from the school is quite common. When I did a homestay, I, as well as every other homestay student in the same program as me were commuting an upwards of 2+ hours a day. Japanese homes closer to major city centers are (usually) small and not suited for having an extra student staying in them. Most foreign students stay with families that live out in the suburbs. I don't really know any methods for "finding" a host family, because most host families are arranged for the student by the school or university. If you are able to find one on your own, I'd take it, even if you have a bit of a commute each day -- I know I certainly wouldn't have traded my stay with my host family for the convenience of living close to the school I went to.

郷に入っては郷に従え
(#3 (permalink))
Old
tommasi (Offline)
West Tokyo Native

07-29-2008, 06:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazmyne View Post
Hi,