JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
mrnicekid (Offline)
JF Regular

The Japanese Working Culture - 10-31-2008, 06:43 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm very new here, in fact this is my very first post!

Anyways, now I'm in my final year in my studies and I've accepted a job offer to work with a Japanese company based in Tokyo, as an engineer starting from May of 2009.

Whenever I told my non-japanese friends that I'm going to work in a Japanese company in Japan, a lot of them gave a lot of bad impression about the working culture in a Japanese company; like how stressfull and hard it is.

The problem is, they have never worked in a Japanese company before! but they still made these comments. I knew Japan is famous with 過労死 (Karoshi - death from over-work) but I think this is not the norm.

I just want to know whether there are anyone who is working in a technology-based Japanese company, preferably as an engineer? I want to know the 'real' stories about how does it feel to be working in a Japanese company.

The Japanese company that I am going to join is going to be the first company that I am going to work for after graduation, so I really have zero idea on how a normal society's working habits are.

よろしくお願いします (- - )
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-31-2008, 06:47 AM

http://www.japanforum.com/forum/gene...rs-rights.html

Nyororin is the expert. She lives in Japan and has a family there.

AlphaDuck is not. He doesn't speak Japanese and has never been to Japan.

This should help.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
mrnicekid (Offline)
JF Regular

10-31-2008, 06:53 AM

wow thanks for the fast response!

I'll try to absorb those information slowly...

do you work in Japan?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-31-2008, 08:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnicekid View Post
wow thanks for the fast response!

I'll try to absorb those information slowly...

do you work in Japan?
I used to, but I try and visit every year...
(#5 (permalink))
Old