JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Kresin (Offline)
New to JF

A couple questions about the whole proccess - 12-23-2008, 11:24 PM

Hello!
Let me start off by introducing myself. My name is Will and I'm currently a freshman in Highschool who is living in the USA. It's always been my dream to go too Japan since I was little. I love the culture, the customs and the sights. It seems like a place I would enjoy waking up and going to work everyday in.

So, I have spent countless hours reading different blogs and looking at different info about living in Japan. I have worked out what I think is the best plan to get me over there and living in Japan:

Right now I'm taking Japanese in highschool and I can take it all four years I'm there, so that should be enough studying to get me where I can pass level 2, maybe even level 1 of the JLPT. I'm planning on going to college and getting my MBA and, if the 4 years highschool japanese isn't enough, maybe a couple more japanese classes. Somewhere in between college I'm going to try and find some time to visit Japan, an exchange program or something perphaps? After I finish college I'm going to try and get a job in business through old fashioned job searching. If that doesn't happen I'm going to try and get in JET so I can get over to Japan and start networking and meeting people and integrating myself with Japanese society. Hopefully I would have found a job that would sponsor my visa by then. I think that pretty much covers it. But I have a few questions:

How did you guys making the transition from an English teaching program to getting a actual job in the japanese work force? Did you just keep your eye out and talk to as many people as you could?

How much do you think an American with an MBA and JLPT level1 certification will be in demand? Will I have a rough time beating out other Japanese who want the same jobs?