JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
paulf (Offline)
New to JF

Job In Tokyo - 12-27-2008, 11:56 AM

Hi

I'm looknig to go to teach english in Japan soon and was wondering how to get a job in tokyo. I'm worried if I go with a big company i might not get the choice of where I can live.
Does anybody have any experience with this?
Would it be best to go to tokyo first and get a job.

I have a million Q's but this is my first post so I thought i'd keep it simple

thanks
(#2 (permalink))
Old
spicytuna (Offline)
JF Old Timer

12-27-2008, 04:47 PM

Perhaps you should give us some more information about yourself. ie. Do you have any teaching experience? Do you have a university degree? Are you fluent in Japanese?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
paulf (Offline)
New to JF

12-27-2008, 06:43 PM

I have no teaching experience, i was thinking of doing more of a conversationist thing. I know people who have worked in Japan with no teaching experience working for companys like nova and geos ( i think)
I'm in my 3rd year of university and hopefully will graduate in the summer.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

12-27-2008, 07:16 PM

Is there a reason it must be Tokyo?
(#5 (permalink))
Old
spicytuna (Offline)
JF Old Timer

12-27-2008, 08:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulf View Post
I have no teaching experience, i was thinking of doing more of a conversationist thing. I know people who have worked in Japan with no teaching experience working for companys like nova and geos ( i think)
I'm in my 3rd year of university and hopefully will graduate in the summer.
Have you ever been to Japan? Do you speak the language? Are you convinced that you want to spend the next few years there? Is Tokyo a preference or a requirement?