JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
CoRnJuLiOx (Offline)
New to JF

The definition of work in Japan - 02-15-2009, 01:37 PM

Ok, I'm planning on going to Japan to study, and since I'd be on a pre-colllege and then a college visa, I'd like to ask about working (as in part-time jobs) on a college visa. I know that you can't work on a pre-college visa (or can you?) and you can only work 4 (some places say 8) hours a week and only after you've applied for a special permit. My question is, what exactly constitutes work? Signing a contract with a company/organization? Would buying and selling (and earning profit off of it) be considered 'work'? How about teaching english as a private tutor I'm told you don't need a license unless you want to teach _at a school, as a teacher_, or doing odd jobs like repairing a neighbor's computer.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
alanX (Offline)
The Psychedelic Traveler

Send a message via Skype™ to alanX
02-15-2009, 03:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoRnJuLiOx View Post
Ok, I'm planning on going to Japan to study, and since I'd be on a pre-colllege and then a college visa, I'd like to ask about working (as in part-time jobs) on a college visa. I know that you can't work on a pre-college visa (or can you?) and you can only work 4 (some places say 8) hours a week and only after you've applied for a special permit. My question is, what exactly constitutes work? Signing a contract with a company/organization? Would buying and selling (and earning profit off of it) be considered 'work'? How about teaching english as a private tutor I'm told you don't need a license unless you want to teach _at a school, as a teacher_, or doing odd jobs like repairing a neighbor's computer.
It is my knowledge that you can only work with a workers visa. And if a company DID hire you, it is "technically" illegal but it still happens.

猿も木から落ちる
(#3 (permalink))
Old
kcyk8703 (Offline)
JF Old Timer

02-15-2009, 10:43 PM