JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
biginjapan (Offline)
JF Regular

Being overqualified for JET - 02-17-2009, 03:18 AM

My buddy was just refused from JET. I studied with him in Japan and he speaks fluent Japanese. He also already has experience teaching students there because it was part of his volunteer work for one of the classes he attended.

I think its major bullshit that JET would rather get people who know little about the country and speak zero Japanese. Does anyone know the reason for this? And is it just JET that is like this or do other companies prefer to hire less qualified applicants?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

02-17-2009, 04:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by biginjapan View Post
My buddy was just refused from JET. I studied with him in Japan and he speaks fluent Japanese. He also already has experience teaching students there because it was part of his volunteer work for one of the classes he attended.

I think its major bullshit that JET would rather get people who know little about the country and speak zero Japanese. Does anyone know the reason for this? And is it just JET that is like this or do other companies prefer to hire less qualified applicants?
How in the world would anyone know why your friend was turned-down?

Speaking Japanese is NOT a prerequisite to being a JET. Having teaching experience is NOT a prerequisite to being a JET. Most JETs who are hired do not speak much Japanese and do not have any teaching experience.

That doesn't mean he was denied BECAUSE he can speak Japanese and has teaching experience. I wasn't there at the interview so I can't imagine what happened that made him not a winning candidate.