JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Hainzy (Offline)
New to JF

Moving to Japan -- New to this - 03-25-2009, 05:32 AM

Alright, as the title may suggest, I am new to both this forum, and to obtaining a visa. So, I'll start with a spiel. I will be attending Siast and receiving a diploma in Computer System Technology, in which I will learn Java, C, PHP, and other languages. I also intend on taking an English teaching course. So, that being said, if I teach English for several years, what are my odds of being able to be accepted for citizenship? Could someone please point me in a good direction? Thanks you.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
solemnclockwork (Offline)
JF Old Timer

03-25-2009, 06:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hainzy View Post
Alright, as the title may suggest, I am new to both this forum, and to obtaining a visa. So, I'll start with a spiel. I will be attending Siast and receiving a diploma in Computer System Technology, in which I will learn Java, C, PHP, and other languages. I also intend on taking an English teaching course. So, that being said, if I teach English for several years, what are my odds of being able to be accepted for citizenship? Could someone please point me in a good direction? Thanks you.
Most at not all information about citizenship is on the japan website. That said you have to have at least 5 or 10 years strait living there OR be married to an Japanese national (you'll get an spouse visa which makes things a little easier). You also CANNOT hold an low class job, you must in some way advance the interest of the Japanese (they have list of things that would qualify on the website). Also you must have some good knowledge ( I believe an third grader level) of the Japanese language and writing.

1 Corinthians 10: 31-33