JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
TheChatbour (Offline)
New to JF

Getting a driver license in Japan for a foreigner - 02-24-2010, 12:02 PM

Hello,

I am a Tunisian student, and I will be coming to Japan (Tsukuba) next April in order to pursue my higher studies.

I am wondering about how to get a driver license in Japan: is it hard for a foreigner? how many does it cost in average?

Thank you,
TheChatbour.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Tsuwabuki (Offline)
石路 美蔓

02-24-2010, 12:08 PM

This depends on so many factors. I have mine, it took me a lot of pain, a lot of effort, and a lot of money. Not to mention taking the test four times before I passed.

...my Australian coworker? He just walked in, and they handed him one.

It depends largely on if your country or state has an agreement with the Japanese government. Australia has like six states. Very easy. America, of course, has more than fifty distinct license granting regions (not just the states, but commonwealths, territories, yadda yadda).

You can drive for a year on your international drivers permit, but after that you need a license. Better find out if your country has an agreement with Japan, if it doesn't, be prepared to pay out the ear, every time you fail, you have to try again, and pay again.

<- AnimeMusicVideos.Org
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
02-24-2010, 12:22 PM

If you already have a license, take a course or two at a Japanese driving school. There are specific things they test on, and they are very strict when it comes to the test. The thinking is, if you don`t do the details even when being tested, you`re probably not going to do the important stuff when you`re not. I have heard the single classes are in the 10,000yen range. I have heard it is often pretty hard for people who have driving habits that are against what is tested... As you are failed for even one mistake.