JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
fastcow1234 (Offline)
New to JF

Questions about Studying Abroad in Tokyo or Nagoya - 03-07-2007, 05:40 AM

Hey everybody, I am new to the Japan Forum and I was wondering if some of you guys could perhaps give me some more information on what I should be expecting when I go to study abroad in Japan. I will be studying at either Sophia University in Tokyo, or Nagoya University in Nagoya. I have done plenty of research on the schools academically, but I didn't know if anyone could give me some information on college life their. Also perhaps some information on the people and life in these cities. I would also like to ask what challenges should I prepare myself to face while studying abroad. I am not a well traveled person so just general tips about what I need to bring would also be great. Thanks, just reading around the forum has helped a great deal, but if anyone could give me some info I would be VERY appreciative.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
jasonbvr (Offline)
TrixR4Kidz

03-07-2007, 11:54 PM

Whoa! North Carolina! What's happening, I am originally from Mooresville. You know, home of Nascar, Race City USA. Not that I actually watch it, but yeah, NC rocks! About your question, from what I have been told Japanese university life is really laid back. Getting into a university is so difficult for Japanese, once they are there they just totally cut loose because it doesn't even compare to how hard it was to get in.

But yeah, I think Samokan is an exchange student. Am I right Samo?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
samokan (Offline)
0xFFFF_FFFF

03-08-2007, 12:59 AM

oh no, am not an exchange student.. but I do have lots of friends who are exchange student.

yes, accdg to my bestfriend who studied in Waseda University, its pretty laid back.

just read about the japanese culture, basically you will have an orientation at your chosen university .. so just enjoy
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire