JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
orkst (Offline)
New to JF

teaching in japan with no degree, possible? - 08-25-2010, 07:36 AM

I'm from america but currently living and teaching in beijing china. I have over two years experience teaching english here, but no college degree. Is it at all possible to find a teaching job without a degree? I attended tufts university in boston for two years part-time while at the same time graduating from the school of the museum of fine arts. but understandably its just a diploma of completion from a studio art school. I already understand the visa situation, in china you also need a degree to get a working visa, but most schools dont really care about which visa the teacher has. hence its quite easy for someone to find work with a business visa or even tourist visa. I guess my real question is, considering I go there without the proper visa, are there schools that would still hire me? Also, does anyone know about volunteer opportunities? As long as they provide free accommodation that is.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

08-25-2010, 08:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by orkst View Post