JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
tatsuchan18 (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via AIM to tatsuchan18 Send a message via Yahoo to tatsuchan18 Send a message via Skype™ to tatsuchan18
I want to teach english in japan. Are there any tips i might of missed? - 01-03-2011, 09:02 PM

Hello! this is my first post here, ive been reading around the forum and stuff and im glad this forum exists.

Anyways, i just recently realized my dream of teaching english in japan. I've always loved anime and japanese culture and i love the society and the people.

Im in school working towards a BA in english. I'm just starting out and i thought a major in english would be the most appropriate one for teaching english in japan. (Is there a better major i could have chosen for this particular field?)

Additionally im also going to take classes on how to teach english to foreigners. and get a teaching license (maybe)

I'm also going to take 4 or more years of japanese classes. (class doesn't start till the 2nd of February tho..im sick of waiting. XS) until then, i have a copy of Rosetta Stone to help me learn japanese. What the program doesn't do though is teach me how to write.

Im a firm believer that if your going to live or even visit a country for an amount of time, you need to at least know the basics of the language. (i get so sick and tired of the spanish people in the U.S. who try and order something from me ((at work)), they don't know any english so their 6 year old child has to translate for them. ugh.)

I've also been looking at the different companies that can sponsor you for a work visa, im not sure which one i'm going to go with yet, but ideally i would like to live in an area where the rent is not to high, where i can bike to school or walk to the train station to get to school, and also be 1 hour or less train distance from tokyo. (as i am a huge anime/manga fan i want to be close to akihabara.)