JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
pixisticks (Offline)
New to JF

Students, modeling, and money (oh my) - 01-16-2011, 12:25 AM

Hi! Okay, um, this might be kind of dumb and I'm not sure if anyone will be able to help me, but I thought I'd ask here anyway. Can't hurt to try, right?

Basically, I'm a new student at Temple University, Japan Campus (if you don't know, it's an American university--based in Philadelphia I believe--with a campus in Japan). I got accepted for Spring 2011, however, I didn't get offered as much money in government loans as I thought I would, and it left me $10,000 short. tl;dr version, I don't have $10,000 or any real way of getting it anytime soon, so I had my acceptance pushed back until I figure out what to do.

Now, at the moment I'm looking into getting a job, even though I have my doubts that I'll be able to get a job that will get me $10,000 over a couple of months. So I'm trying to look for other options as well. And one occurred to me that I want to ask about here. I model, and mostly because of my age and where I live, I haven't been able to get many paid jobs. But I know I saw a thread here a long time ago about modeling in Japan, and that there's a high demand for foreign models over there.

Now, my question is... do you think it would be possible for me to contact a modeling agency in Japan and get sponsored by them, and get flown over there? I don't have a TON of experience (I've been doing it for about six, seven months) but do you think it's even a possibility? Or would I have to get the money, go over there as a student, and then go to the agencies when I'm already there and see if they sign me?