JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Living in Japan (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/living-japan/)
-   -   I am 38 years old and considering moving to Japan (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/living-japan/36036-i-am-38-years-old-considering-moving-japan.html)

dxr 02-09-2011 01:35 AM

I am 38 years old and considering moving to Japan

Hello, long time reader, first time poster *bows*

I am a 38 year old that has always had an interest in Japan. I have gone there many times since my mid-twenties up until just last year. It had always been a dream of mine to attempt to live there, at least for a while, one day.

I have a bachelors and a nursing degree. I have moderate savings. I can speak very little Japanese (I have actually taken two years of Japanese and tons of self study, but as I am sure is the case with a lot of people, I have have not retained much due to not being immersed in any type of way for years since I learned).

I'm simply looking for advice and/or experiences from people living in Japan at my current age or older. In any way you see fit. From jobs, to social life to any other tips.

Thank you in advance :)

josebrown 02-09-2011 02:46 AM

you can be an English teacher, but unless you marry a j-lady I don't think you/anyone else can stay.

MMM 02-09-2011 03:23 AM

What are your specialties, as obviously you have been working for several years?

RealJames 02-09-2011 03:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dxr (Post 850221)
Hello, long time reader, first time poster *bows*

I am a 38 year old that has always had an interest in Japan. I have gone there many times since my mid-twenties up until just last year. It had always been a dream of mine to attempt to live there, at least for a while, one day.