JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
NickyLouise (Offline)
New to JF

Spending time and possibly studying in Japan - 03-10-2011, 03:21 AM

Hi, I apologies if this turns out to be a long post.

I'm from the UK and I graduated with a software engineering degree last summer (from a uni here). I've had an interest in the Japanese language and culture for a few years now. Despite trying to self teach my self the language a few times I've never got very far. I lacked the motivation because I had no idea if I would ever be able to go to Japan, and then other interests would come up and I'd forget about it for a while. I've been doing some research on Japanese culture recently and it's made me decide for definite that I want to spend time in Japan. Right now in my life I'm not really doing anything so I'm also trying to figure out what I want to do next for my career.

I had an idea that maybe it would be possible to combine the two and take my masters in Japan (obviously learning the language first). But I don't know if this is a good idea or if I should plan to do something else in Japan. It made some sense to me because of Japan being technically advanced, and I would be doing a computing course.

So here are my questions:

How would you advise I go about learning the language? Self-study clearly hasn't been working for me, but I have learnt the very very basics, and have learnt hiragana and katakana and some kanji (I found a great book that teaches kanji but I need motivation to get on with it). Would a full Japanese course here or a language school in Japan be worth the money?

What level of language proficiency would I need if I did decide to study in Japan? I know some universities offer a 6 month pre-course to help with language but obviously that isn't enough time to learn the language.