JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
usernamemadeinchina (Offline)
New to JF

Work - 04-29-2011, 05:26 PM

Hello everyone, as you may have noticed I'm indeed new to this forum, so any tip on anything would be, therefore, highly appreciated.

My question is the following: I'm an aussie sydneysider, who's dream is living in japan, I'm in love with the country since my first visit like when I was 8, I visit it quite frequently. So in no time I'll be studying international relations plus asian studies at the uni, I studied japanese since little at school and I'll polish my japanese at asian studies degree, I'll also intend to study mandarin at a.s. So the question is: I'd love to be a diplomat in japan, if I speak japanese fluently, are there a lot of possibilities of me being a diplomat in japan? Also, if the diplomat thing doesn't work, I would, most certainly, like to be an english teacher at a high school or something, but no language schools, and one of my aunties that studied english at sydney couldn't teach at a private high school school in japan coz the aussie certificate wasn't valid in japan, what should i do?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Tsuwabuki (Offline)
石路 美蔓

04-30-2011, 09:24 PM

I spent two weeks in Sydney over Christmas. It was a lot of fun!

The best way to go to Japan as a diplomat would be to talk to your Foreign Service: Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade homepage

Your aunt could have indeed, if she had a rinji menkyo (臨時免許) which is a temporary teaching license. If you are serious about teaching in Japan full time for an extended period of time, you will need a kyouin menkyo (教員免許) which is what I am earning. For that you need your Aussie certification first.

I could walk you through the process, but you'd have to make a decision about your career path, because being a diplomat and being a teacher are two very different paths.

<- AnimeMusicVideos.Org
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan