JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
dinkot (Offline)
New to JF

Question Pursuing my musician/composer dream in Japan - 10-11-2011, 07:26 PM

Hi minna, everybody

I am from Indonesia, 29 yrs old this year, graduated already with Bachelor Degree (in Business Finance & Management), now helping my dad, but my real dreams, passion & talents have always been in MUSIC. yes, I am also a musician/songwriter/composer, although still an Indie one in my country

And I've always, always loved Japanese culture.
(I don't care if actually people calling me "otaku", "Japanophile" etc everybody is entitled to their own opinion),

but the thing is: I have always loved Japanese music (Jpop/Jrock), anime, video games, movies, culture, the "music culture" and its vibrant music scene, the variations of the 'modern' Tokyo and the 'traditional' Kyoto, sakura trees, japanese food, etc etc (I used to travel to Japan by myself in 2005, and immediately fell in love with the country, even still now when I remember about it!),
but what draws me the Most is probably the MUSIC, as a musician myself.
so to finally be able to live in Japan, and ideally, work as a composer/musician, either as a 'foreign/international/overseas artist' or as a composer for video-game/anime would totally be a real highest dreams-come-true for me!

So my several quick questions for now before I continue further is:

1. Is it still possible, and is there still an "easy way" (or 'easier' way) for me, at this current age, to live in Japan? If yes, would love to hear some practical info about this.

2. And is it actually possible (still), at my current age, to study japanese, and then right-away go live there, and try to make a career as a musician/composer there?
I don't mean to sound boasting, but I've got many positive remarks from both local and international people (and professional music industry people too) about my Music & musical talent as well, which can be heard some here.