JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
feathersmcgraw (Offline)
New to JF

Question graphic designer in japan? - 08-04-2007, 05:15 PM

hi everyone.

i would like to live in japan (much to the surprise of everyone here i'm sure) and i would like to know what my chances are.

i graduated from college in digital media/communication design and now work as a graphic designer in a digital advertising company. my plan is to take more japanese classes here, then go do some work&travel in japan for a while and learn more of the language and look around to see if i can find a regular job then. I have a college degree and work experience so i hope it's not entirely impossible to find something.

being a graphic designer of course also means i have to deal a lot with typography, i.e. writing/characters. is there a reasonable chance for me to learn that enough so that i'd be able to work there in my profession? are there any foreigners working in advertising over there (especially as designers)?

what do you guys think my chances are? i'm usually quite good with languages, i speak 4 already quite fluently, just fyi.

thanks!

-andy

Last edited by feathersmcgraw : 08-04-2007 at 05:33 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Kaicui (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

08-04-2007, 05:38 PM

hey well the GFX industry is currently growing and jobs r always avaliable, i think u shud give it a shot
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

08-04-2007, 06:34 PM

I think that is a great dream. You are going to run into some hurdles, but it seems like you see that.

One is language. You seem to be on the path to remedying that, but your best bet is going to be going to Japan. You have a couple options, but if you are serious about learning Japanese, the best thing to do is go there as a student, or go as an English teacher.

While you are there you may be able to get hooked up with people in the industry, but here's where the second problem comes in.