JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

Working as a translator/interpreter - 09-10-2007, 05:25 AM

I work mostly as a freelance translator, and have noticed that there are a few others here. I just wanted to start a thread so that people interested in the fields if translation and interpretation could get and share information.

I have been translating Japanese to English for a couple years now, but only went freelance at the beginning of this year. I started doing lots of manuals and rather boring stuff, but have been lucky enough to now do more novels and manga work...which is still hard, but a lot more interesting and rewarding.

I am wondering how translators in Japan "survive"? I know there are plusses and minuses to being a J-E translator in Japan, as some companies want their translations FROM the USA (or whereever), and, of course, living expenses are higher... Are there non-Japanese E-J translators around?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
pandayanyan (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via AIM to pandayanyan Send a message via MSN to pandayanyan
09-10-2007, 05:30 AM

yeah i would like to know that also...
are there good jobs for these translators?(ie enough to live off of)
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

09-10-2007, 05:55 AM

That's what I would like to know, too. (I assume you mean in Japan...)

It's certainly possible to live off it in the US, but it takes skills and a little luck...
(#4 (permalink))
Old
pandayanyan (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via AIM to pandayanyan Send a message via MSN to pandayanyan
09-10-2007, 05:57 AM

yes in Japan. I think Jasonbvr would know but he gets on only a few minutes these days to check his thread.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Lilongyue (Offline)
JF Regular

09-10-2007, 11:43 AM