JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
SgtBeavis (Offline)
JF Regular

Business customs in Japan - 09-19-2007, 01:29 AM

Hi all,

Work has had me pretty busy as of late but it is about to pay off. I found out that I'll be going back to Japan for up to 6 months on business. I'll be spearheading a data center migration in Tokyo.

My assignment will have me dealing with IT folk like systems admins as well as high level managers and executives. I lived in Japan for two years so I know a lot of customs and traditions but I am a novice when it comes to business customs and etiquette. The only thing I know is how to properly present and and accept a business card.

Does anyone have any recommendations for books on Japanese business customs and etiquette?

Thanks..
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

09-19-2007, 02:04 AM

Here's a blog I used to write...you'll find stuff in here that you won't in any book. It was a company blog, and since I quit the company, they haven't maintained it.

japan communications: April 2006
(#3 (permalink))
Old
GhostBlade (Offline)
JF Old Timer

09-19-2007, 06:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
Here's a blog I used to write...you'll find stuff in here that you won't in any book. It was a company blog, and since I quit the company, they haven't maintained it.

japan communications: April 2006
Thanks for that. I bookmarked it and will read it later.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

09-19-2007, 07:01 AM

I sent you the link to the "beginning" so you don't read it backwards. Let me know what you think! I might try putting some of those types of topics up for discussion here. . . for people to derail.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
SgtBeavis (Offline)
JF Regular

09-19-2007, 05:54 PM

EXTREMELY useful. I read through most of it last night.
(#6 (permalink))
Old
GhostBlade (Offline)
JF Old Timer

09-19-2007, 11:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post