JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
fotjp (Offline)
New to JF

Halloween in Tokyo pictures - 10-31-2007, 05:15 AM

Halloween is a holiday growing in popularity in Japan. Here are some pictures of the Omotesando Harajuku halloween pumpkin parade 2007. The parade is one of the biggest halloween events in Tokyo. Many cute Japanese children dress up in costumes to join the parade.

There are about 100 pictures in the Tokyo Halloween 2007 gallery.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-31-2007, 05:33 AM

Gotta love the Wii kid.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
jasonbvr (Offline)
TrixR4Kidz

10-31-2007, 06:02 AM

As cute as Japanese kids are in costumes, I am beginning to hate Halloween. As an English teacher, I have had to give so many lessons about pumpkins and mummies that I think I will spontaneously combust if I say Jack-o-Lantern one more time. Better yet, if I get the question, "Why do you say Jack?" one more time I will freak out. How the hell would I know? It's a common name. Why does it matter? It just sounds nice!! Better than Tim-o-Lantern or Mary-o-Lantern.

Did you know Halloween started in Ireland? I didn't, nor did I care to know either. But now I have to have the answer. What was really fun, explaining to people that Halloween used to be a religious event and like many religious events in Western culture we turn them into a mockery of what they were intended to be. Think of Santa and the f'ing Easter Bunny.

Then they ask me why people go trick or treating and I am like, well, because it's what we do. It's like you throwing beans at demons during that holiday I don't remember the name of. We figure if we feed the little devils they'll leave us alone.

Being a cutural ambassador seriously sucks some time. But, I did enjoy scaring little kids. That was awesome.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-31-2007, 06:25 AM