JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
musashi (Offline)
Is throwing the apples...

Send a message via AIM to musashi
short story: Stars - 01-21-2007, 10:40 PM

Ok, I'm a writer and I want to see what you guys think of this story that I wrote. It's being entered into a festival, but I really like hearing what people think.....so if you want to cry some, hear you go....It's called Stars
Haruki is the guy and his name means "Shining Brightly"
Hoshiko is the girl and her name means "Star"

Stars

Have you ever watched the waves? So calm, graceful, rough and arrogant, all at the same time. Sometimes I would sit on the beach all day just to watch them. Sometimes, he would sit with me. We would watch the sunset together and then we would just lay there next to each other and try to count the stars. We always lost count. He would say, all the time, he was going to give them to me, so I could try to count them all the time. I had just smiled. Nobody can give you the stars; at least no normal person. But Haruki wasn’t normal, was he?
It was a day like any other and Haruki and I were walking through the halls of our high school. He kept looking at me, making me blush. I didn’t mind it when he looked at me, not at all. Everyone expected us to be a couple, and they always acted so surprise to find out we were just friends. They would always say, “Hoshiko, why aren’t you and Haruki dating yet? You really should.” But that’s all we are, best friends. I mean we love each other, but just as friends, right?
I couldn’t have been more wrong. That night, after we watched the sunset, and all the colors had disappeared behind a blanket of sparkling black, we laid there, trying to count the stars. “Hoshiko...” he said.
“Yeah, Haruki?”
“What if I said I liked you more than a friend? What would you say?” I looked at him still starring at the twinkling stars above. After a long pause, I answered.
“What do you mean ‘more than a friend’?”