JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
RKitagawa (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via MSN to RKitagawa
Art help. Post your art - 04-28-2009, 07:27 PM

Hey everyone, I thought it would be cool to have a topic where we can all help each other on our art.
So the idea here is to post any artwork you have done, and we can critique them, do paintovers, give tips, etc...
or just admire them.
everyone is welcome!

guess i'll start off.

here is a quick and simple sketch that i did before posting this. (based on ととろ of course)

gonna use it for my avatar i think.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Ypsilanti (Offline)
JF Old Timer

04-29-2009, 08:42 AM

awww it looks so cute ^^

k here's mine:
http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w...z/P4210238.jpg

i'm still an amateur so..be gentle

(#3 (permalink))
Old
Troo (Offline)
JF Old Timer

04-29-2009, 09:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKitagawa View Post
Excellent technique, but the composition is lacklustre. The eye is drawn to two places: The expanse of blue top-left, and the critter, mid-right. The problem then is that the critter is also looking at the expanse top-left, where there is nothing. The composition forces your viewer to look right back out of the picture, rather than drawing them in.

A simple solution is to put some little flying beastie in that expanse - a butterfly, bee, or something similar (and small - you don't want it to dominate the picture). Ensure it is flying toward your critter, as that will bounce the viewer's eyes back to him again, creating a loop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ypsilanti View Post
Focus is excellent. The image is slightly overexposed - presumably you've used spot metering, but even area metering can ignore distant background. This needed to be taken down by -1, but while learning I reccommend using exposure bracketing if your camera has it.