JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sabishiineko (Offline)
New to JF

HELP!an amateur in drawing question!! - 03-21-2010, 02:20 PM

hallo all!i just started drawing with pencil anime characters and upload my art to deviantart via scanner.the problem is that because of the pencil some parts of the drawing is hard to see them.my friends tell me to draw it with pen above the pencil area but i am afraid of ruining my drawing!! and also i dont know what pen to use!!!plz help!!!!(oh, my english are worse than i expected i hope you can understand what i wrote )
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Columbine (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

03-21-2010, 03:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabishiineko View Post
hallo all!i just started drawing with pencil anime characters and upload my art to deviantart via scanner.the problem is that because of the pencil some parts of the drawing is hard to see them.my friends tell me to draw it with pen above the pencil area but i am afraid of ruining my drawing!! and also i dont know what pen to use!!!plz help!!!!(oh, my english are worse than i expected i hope you can understand what i wrote )
Your options are:

1) Use a softer pencil or a black pencil crayon or a charcoal pencil. They all come out darker and easier to scan BUT harder to draw with. You can't rub out mistakes as easily.

2) Use pen. You just have to be brave and go for it. Accept that sometimes you'll screw up. But the more you use pen, the better you'll get and the less mistakes you'll make. Don't use biro. A cheap black gel pen is a good starting point, although fine detail can be difficult and it smudges a lot. Just go to a stationary shop and try out some pens. It doesn't really matter what you use as long as you feel comfortable using it.

3) Get a better scanner. But this is probably pointless and expensive