JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Parenting in Japan (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/parenting-japan/)
-   -   Raising Children in Asia (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/parenting-japan/6611-raising-children-asia.html)

Lilongyue 07-30-2007 05:20 PM

Raising Children in Asia

I was hoping to pick the brains of some of the people, like Nyororin, living and raising chldren in Japan. I'm American, marrying my Chinese fiancee in a few days, and am considering raising my children in Asia. I currently live in China, but don't want to raise my children in Mainland China. I am thinking about finding work in Hong Kong after I finish my schooling, or perhaps another place in Asia (probably a Chinese speaking one since I'm studying Chinese language). For those of you with children in Japan, who are raising your children there, how do you plan to introduce or impart those aspects or your native culture that you see as beneficial to your children? Will you make sure they speak English?

terra104 08-01-2007 09:06 PM

not all cultures and traditions are perfect, i think you should take the best of yours and the best of hers, synchronise them and let your children experinece both.. as for the language, i would have them learn both chinese and english..

Nyororin 08-02-2007 05:19 AM

I personally plan to take it on my son`s cues.

In other words, if he shows no interest, I have no plan to push things. I have met too many children whose parents have forced English and non-Japanese culture on them. Most (actually all the children I`ve met) ended up hating all of it when they went to school and found that they were nothing like their peers - and couldn`t even speak the same language properly. That, on top of looking different? I don`t think so. Not going to happen in our case. Better for my son to just not know English than to outright hate and avoid it and me because of it.