JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Lallyzippo (Offline)
New to JF

Long Term Relationship--having second thoughts? - 11-14-2011, 03:10 AM

Heya.

I'm an American student, a junior, studying abroad in Japan for a year. I also have been in a relationship with a Japanese guy from my school's sister University for over a year now.

Lately, there have been some issues. Mostly due to my own stress.

Thing is, he's currently a senior and job-hunting without much success. This is partially due to his age, because he went to a university before this one. Moreover, his family situation is problematic. His dad is sort of an alcoholic and will come home and verbally abuse their family, especially my boyfriend's mom. He's even kicked her on occasion. My boyfriend keeps pushing his mom to divorce his dad, but they needs the money his job provides.

He wants to move into his own apartment, but needs a job first.

I love him, but sometimes when he is job searching, he may not apply to certain places just because it's not really what he wants. For example, I suggested he look in Sendai because not many people want jobs there now. He said "Uhhh, maybe..." So that means he's not even going to try. He's also said "Well, some of my friends got jobs in Tokyo, so I would feel bad if I couldn't do that too." I realize that he's at a disadvantage in the job-hunting system now, but he's also not trying as hard as he could be.