JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
chryuop (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Grammatical question - 07-23-2008, 06:19 PM

I am studying Japanese and I have met a certain point where a certain grammar rule is not clear. I asked already to 4 Japanese people, 2 said it is correct and 2 said it is incorrect. At this point I think I will never use this form, but I am just curious to see if I get some better explaination. It is about I Adjectives.
I know the true adjective past tense is obtained by changing the い with かった to which I can add です to make it polite. For example:
この映画は面白い==>この映画は面白かった==>この映画は 面白かったです。
Now so far is all ok, it is reported in every grammar book and internet. But I have found a new form of the past for the true adjectives that I see used in internet, I can't find on grammar books and as I said 2 Japanese people said it is correct and 2 said it is incorrect. This is the form I am talking about...
この映画は面白いでした。

Hopefully I will receive answers that will clear this puzzle I have in my mind
Thanx in advance.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
NTREEG (Offline)
JF Regular

07-23-2008, 07:01 PM

I'm just a student as well and can't tell you with any certainty that it's wrong. But whenever I've accidentally used でした with an i-adjective, I was told it was wrong and had to change it to かったです.

Of course there are adjectives that end in "i" that are actually na-adjectives which you would use でした with.
Ex:
町がきれいでした。
両親が元気でした

If I remember to do so, I'll ask my teacher tomorrow to see if I can get you a more definite answer.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

07-23-2008, 07:58 PM

この映画は面白いでした。

面白い is an い-adjective, therefore it is incorrect to put it in the past tense like a noun.

This is never a grammatically correct sentence.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
chryuop (Offline)
JF Old Timer

07-23-2008, 08:25 PM