JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   Ordinal Numbers and Adverb Question (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/25486-ordinal-numbers-adverb-question.html)

KyleGoetz 05-29-2009 10:07 PM

Nyororin, it's the recognition that this whippersnapper is following the paths we took when we were foolish youths ourselves (asking "why" when we should be asking "how"). Perhaps a little self loathing on my part...

Also the responses of inno came off a bit snooty. That's why I responded the way I did. Advice was given, and inno's response was akin to
Quote:

I'm a scientist. I'm not listening to you people.
Nevermind that I have a degree in abstract math, arguably the most "why"-ridden field in the world. ;)

inno89 05-29-2009 10:27 PM

No, I had never meant that. I just said that it's always in my nature is constantly ask why. Did you read my previous post about 少し? I'm not gonna keep quiet about that, I have to know why to understand it; I won't walk into the test just guessing when to use it.

Snooty? It's rare that I ever get a laugh out of forum posts, but in this case I did. If you want snooty you should talk to some of my fellow students. I am very modest and keep to myself, rather than many (and trust me, there is a lot of these people of type) of these idiots that blabbers that they got a 92 as opposed to their friends 91 on some meaningless quiz or etc. Perhaps you have dealt with many of these people as have I and it is in your nature to assume that most will be like that; I can understand that, as I do the same thing too, but text does not display the emotion as voice does. Whether it'd be abstract math, physics, chemistry, etc, all of these fields share the "why" perspective, but it to each person when to apply it (in this scenerio, language).