JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
addictedKool (Offline)
JF Regular

International Studies major has a question... - 08-11-2009, 11:48 PM

Here's the dealio:

I'm an American sophomore college student. I'm at the point of my life where I don't know what I want to be, as far as choosing a career. Hell, I'm not even sure I know exactly what I want to major in. I'm currently going with the flow in the premed track but I don't know if medicine is really for me.

LONG STORY SHORT, I sort-of, kind of, hoping I don't change my mind for the thousandth time, choose to be an International Studies major. I have no clue what I want to do with that degree after I graduate. All I know is, I enjoy studying politics, cultures, and the whole shebang.

So. Here's the question. I don't really have any intentions of living in Japan because I haven't visited the country yet. However, hypothetically (and I do love to play the "what if" game) let's say I do want to live there for a couple of years. What... can I do with this major? Given that I pass JLPT level 2 and I teach English for a year (plan on applying for the JET program.... woot?).

Last edited by addictedKool : 08-11-2009 at 11:51 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
wasabijuice (Offline)
JF Regular

08-12-2009, 12:36 AM

The International Studies degree will help if you take an Asian studies minor or concentration along with Japanese language minor with of course at least 1 semester abroad in Japan. Nowadays they don't want whiney JETs who need their hand held for every little thing. Outside of teaching in Japan or somewhere else, I don't see the degree doing very much for you. If you dream big you can apply for foreign service, but that competition would be tough, unless you are stellar.