JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sakurasake41 (Offline)
New to JF

Place to stay for about a month? - 02-12-2010, 04:38 AM

Hello! It's been a while~

So, I'm currently studying in Japan at Nihon Daigaku. Right now I live in Shimo-takaido in an apartment provided by the school, and I receive the JASSO scholarship, enabling me to pay my insanely-cheap-by-Tokyo-standards rent (30,000 yen a month). I also have a part-time job as an English teacher for a friend of my teacher's daughter, and I go three times a week for an hour and make 7500 yen a week. The term ends on March 30th, and despite how much I love it here, because of money issues I had resigned myself to leaving in the first week of April. And I do love it here--I won't be able to return for at least two years after I leave, because of aforementioned money issues, which upsets me greatly, and I would love to stay longer, but because the term ends on March 30th, I also stop receiving my scholarship then, so if I wanted to find another place to live for a while just to stay longer, I knew I wouldn't be able to afford anywhere all by myself (this is talking on 7500 yen a week). I have many friends who live in Tokyo, but none of them have space for me, unfortunately.

However, I just got an email from my mother, asking me if it would be possible for me to stay until May 10th, because the prices of plane tickets back to America decrease dramatically around then. I would LOVE to stay and this is a wonderful opportunity, but... again, I have nowhere to stay, and I couldn't afford a place on my own (plus it's not worth it to get an apartment for about a month).