Originally Posted by YuriTokoro View Post
Hi, sarvodaya. I’m Yuri.
Nice to meet you.
Hello Yuri.
Pleased to meet you too.

Quote:
Let me introduce myself.
I’m a housewife, used to work as a pharmacist.
I live in Kasawaki city, Kanagawa prefecture.
Kawasaki, I see that's near the Tama Hills, where "Pom Poko" was set if I'm not mistaken! (I'm a bit of a Studio Ghibli fan.)

Quote:
I love dancing. When I was a student, I practiced Karate. (Kyokushin, of course! What’s yours?)
I studied Kamishin Ryu under Sensei Phil Snewin.
I studied 上新 流 under 先生 フィル Snewin.

Is that right? Is there a way to transliterate "Snewin"?

Quote:
My grandfather, my uncle and my cousins are Buddhist priests.
Gosh, I've obviously come to the right place to learn a little about Buddhism as well.

Quote:
I’ve been studying English for many years, but still have a lot of difficulties writing and speaking English.
I must say your English is quite excellent, Yuri.

Quote:
How are you going to study Japanese besides with this forum? I mean, will you go to a Japanese conversation school, or study by yourself?
I’d like to help you, but I don’t see how I can help you specifically.
Will you ask questions here? My answering your questions will be enough?
I will be teaching myself Japanese. That is how I learned the patchy bit of Russian I know, but I would rather be more thorough with Japanese, especially as I very much want to visit Japan one day. I am really at the beginning and still becoming familiar with the kana. I have been working my way through this website:

Teach Yourself Japanese