View Single Post
(#274 (permalink))
Old
samurai007 (Offline)
JF Old Timer

03-09-2011, 10:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
I would agree with paragraph 100%. I think, (it was 2 years ago), my original target in this thread was not people like you necessarily, but the opposite: those focused on Japan without really knowing what they were getting into, or without a realistic focus. You took the lateral approach: I'll go anywhere, and take whatever is thrown at me. I was somewhere in between (or maybe both) in that I knew I wanted to go to Japan, so I majored in Japanese in college, and visited three times before I lived there for three years. Since returning to the US, I have never worked a job that wasn't related to Japan somehow, but I have never felt the desired to move back there again. I visit every year, just about, and love it when I am there, but am always happy to get home, too.
I know you weren't really talking about me, and I agree with the point of this thread... that's why I participated in it years ago, and today. I'm just pointing out that, as you say, our motivations and focuses were a bit different.