JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
cCow (Offline)
New to JF

I'm looking to teach come January - 09-11-2010, 06:15 PM

I'm finishing up my honours BA at a Canadian University and am really excited to teach in Japan. I am wondering if anybody has tips regarding application. I've applied at a couple different company's websites and have yet to hear back from them.

What are some tips you have for my application. Anything I should avoid? Anything I need to know?

I'm really really excited to go to Japan and teach and I know I'd rock at it. I've been a swim instructor for a couple years and have volunteered at a few elementary schools.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
cCow (Offline)
New to JF

09-12-2010, 04:42 AM

Anybody? Hello?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
RobinMask (Offline)
JF Old Timer

09-12-2010, 11:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cCow View Post
Anybody? Hello?
Sorry, I avoided replying because I wasn't sure if you were genuine :/ I saw another person registered at the same time as you, similar username, same post count, plus I assumed someone else would reply to this too.

Anyways, this site has resume/CV tips and tips for passing the interview stage: How to Make a Resume. A Step by Step Sentence Improvement Guide It's a very good site and may help, I assume something like this is what you meant by 'tips at passing the application'?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
cCow (Offline)
New to JF

Hmm - 09-20-2010, 05:33 AM

I'm talking more about content. I had to write a short 500 word essay for AEON about why I wanted to live and work in Japan and I thought it was very well written and thought out... but I've yet to hear from them. They are hiring all year in my area (Toronto, Canada). I'm quite disappointed.