JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Sitron (Offline)
Banned

Is it possible to be self-taught in Japanese? - 08-26-2010, 07:28 PM

I'm self-taught in German, and could easily teach myself Spanish or French or any other European language by starting out with children books and working myself up.

But with Japanese it's a whole different story. Books with furigana to all kanji are few and far between. So looking up a word with kanji that you don't know how to pronounce is practically impossible. I could see myself being able to read children's books, but there's no way I'd be able to become proficient in this language.

What do you guys think? Is it possible?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
WesternInk (Offline)
New to JF

08-26-2010, 07:32 PM

I think it's possible. I don't know how fluent you will become though. It's not impossible to look up kanji - you can always search kanji by their radicals, or invest in a Nintendo DS game that allows you to write kanji with a stylus, and it will search for the reading.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
yuriyuri (Offline)
JF Old Timer

08-26-2010, 07:38 PM

Of course it is possible.
You can become fluent through self study if you don't get bored and quit.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
NanteNa (Offline)
sixth gun.

Send a message via Skype™ to NanteNa
08-26-2010, 07:44 PM

I don't think so. It's very difficult to pick up on culture-based expressions without some amount of tutoring. Of course you can learn words and writings, but it's just not the same. Also German is FAR from the same as Japanese. You may know the language well, but 'self-teaching' never leads to "fluent". That's just my experience - and opinion..

[ <-- Jordan's heart! \(Ò_ó)/ ]
Follow me on TUMBLR
"Well if a chick has a problem with the way I conduct myself I'd draw the bitch
a map to the nearest exit and stamp "fuck off" on her forehead."
- Pot Roast
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Kawaiigurl1981 (Offline)
New to JF

08-26-2010, 07:52 PM