JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Mehran (Offline)
New to JF

Would it be possible to ditch the Fukushima plant and make a lead pyramid out of it? - 03-18-2011, 04:26 PM

So I am thinking, I am not a nuclear expert, but I know there is not a chance that a nuclear plant would explode like an atomic bomb. The main concern with a nuclear plant in crisis is the high degree of radiation. My point is that would it be possible to just bury the Fukushima plant under lead bricks just like Egyptian pyramids and done with it to save lives of those working on a seemingly losing battle? It can be a monument for the whole world to remember how dangerous the nuclear power could be. Our hearts and minds are with Japanese people and hope to see major breakthroughs soon.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

03-18-2011, 04:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mehran View Post
So I am thinking, I am not a nuclear expert, but I know there is not a chance that a nuclear plant would explode like an atomic bomb. The main concern with a nuclear plant in crisis is the high degree of radiation. My point is that would it be possible to just bury the Fukushima plant under lead bricks just like Egyptian pyramids and done with it to save lives of those working on a seemingly losing battle? It can be a monument for the whole world to remember how dangerous the nuclear power could be. Our hearts and minds are with Japanese people and hope to see major breakthroughs soon.
They are exploring that possibility right now. Obviously the plant will never be usable again. The goal is to make it stable, and then make it safe.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
GoNative (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

03-18-2011, 04:51 PM