JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Markc1981 (Offline)
New to JF

Bit Of Help - 02-05-2009, 06:01 PM

OK..I'm a forum newbie...

Flying to Osaka in July for a month,then traveling up to Tokyo for another month.
Not sure if to base myself in Osaka or Kyoto..and I will get a rail pass for my 1st month..but is it work getting another 7dayer one for traveling to Tokyo?

Any other advice very welcome

Thanks in advance

Mark
(#2 (permalink))
Old
samurai007 (Offline)
JF Old Timer

02-05-2009, 06:10 PM

If you're just staying in the Osaka/Kansai area for the 1st month, don't get a JR Rail Pass for that time, it's a complete waste of money.

JET Program, 1996-98, Wakayama-ken, Hashimoto-shi

Link to pictures from my time in Japan
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Markc1981 (Offline)
New to JF

02-05-2009, 06:44 PM

I was looking to use Osaka as base..then travel around the area as much as poss..would it be worth it then? But i can use the pass to get from Osaka to Tokyo?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
godwine (Offline)
自爆十秒前

02-05-2009, 07:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markc1981 View Post
I was looking to use Osaka as base..then travel around the area as much as poss..would it be worth it then? But i can use the pass to get from Osaka to Tokyo?
You will need the pass if you plan on going outside of Osaka, like Kobe, himeji, Kyoto etc. It cost quite a bit to travel to those areas.

You definitely need it to travel to Tokyo, one way would have cost you about 90-150 USD already otherwise
(#5 (permalink))
Old
burkhartdesu (Offline)
JF Old Timer

02-05-2009, 07:22 PM

I think the pass would be more helpful for the first half of the trip, but its always possible to have it active 2 weeks into your trip, that way you get to use it in both Osaka and Tokyo- but tickets are expensive... Hopefully you're bringing alot of extra travel money, just in case.

When I went I had the 21 day pass, and I used it alot- it's a helpful tool...