JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
junglist1988 (Offline)
New to JF

trip to japan - 02-17-2009, 04:58 PM

hi, this is my first time traveling to Japan and was wondering if I could get any tips on a itinerary, ways of travel ( the speed trains in Tokyo are reknowned to be good) ect. Also if anyone can suggest any good hostels, and advice on a budget to keep myself going. Basically I would like to see as much of Japan as possible.

Obviously I wont be able to see all of Japan, but I would like to know the areas or places worth visiting within a 2-3 month period around April/May.

what I plan to do is book a hotel the first night some where safe in Tokyo, and then go look around for any backbacker hostels, around the city( obviously the city is huge, some where close to the international airport in the Ota ward) . I was thinking of spending the first week or so in Tokyo and then going on to other parts of the country (Okinawa, Kyoto,ect)

I have a rough idea of the places I would like to see (Studio Ghibli museum in minato,main street in akihabara, senoji temple, so far in attractions in Toyko, ).

I was wondering if any1 here from experience, would recommend any other sight seeing attractions, meseums or places outside of Tokyo that might be of interest or is really worth checking out. (If you want a rough idea of my interests, yes I like alittle bit of manga and anime, but also interested in the past traditions (tea ceremony for example), food (ramen, sushi) the history of the edo period and older , and the current culture .

I dont speak fluent Japanese, I have lesson packages that teachs the simple basics (hiragana katagana, romanji, ect) and I heard it a neccesity to learn Japanese if your traveling to areas outside of central tokyo, and I am polishing what I learned a while ago.