JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
MagicCakeLady (Offline)
New to JF

Wagashi for Dummies - 04-11-2010, 09:16 PM

I'm a culinary student, and I've recently become quite fascinated with wagashi, but I can't find very much English information on how they're made and with what supplies.

I was wondering if anyone could point me in the proper direction to anything that was either in English, was a demonstrative video, or just had lots of step-by-step photographs or illustrations.

I'd really like to know what kind of tools you need and how to use them, and particularly how one goes about making monaka wafers.

Thanks for your help!

Mie
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Columbine (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

04-11-2010, 09:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicCakeLady View Post
I'm a culinary student, and I've recently become quite fascinated with wagashi, but I can't find very much English information on how they're made and with what supplies.

I was wondering if anyone could point me in the proper direction to anything that was either in English, was a demonstrative video, or just had lots of step-by-step photographs or illustrations.

I'd really like to know what kind of tools you need and how to use them, and particularly how one goes about making monaka wafers.

Thanks for your help!

Mie
This site: Cooking Japanese Sweets in Champaign-Urbana Goes through some of the basics. The most important ingredient is shiratamako; very fine high quality flour made from short grain glutinous rice. The recipes absolutely will not work without it. Unfortunately it's somewhat hard to get hold of outside Japan, although demand is on the increase. I hear a few places retail it in the US and Japan Centre in Picadilly (finally!) sells both the flour and mochi rice.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
allhailhata (Offline)
JF Regular

04-11-2010, 09:58 PM

(#4 (permalink))
Old
berrypie (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via Skype™ to berrypie
04-13-2010, 02:56 AM