JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Lolx5 (Offline)
JF Regular

Where to start..? - 05-10-2008, 03:18 AM

Whats the best way to learn japanese?
I know that i should get a tutor or teacher, but there are none where I am, i've looked.
But, where should you start you studies off?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
BakaCrisis (Offline)
(。・_・。)σ

Send a message via AIM to BakaCrisis Send a message via MSN to BakaCrisis Send a message via Skype™ to BakaCrisis
05-10-2008, 03:29 AM

I say, and some might disagree, you download study guides to your hearts content.. Crack up the ol' bittorrent, and just download every type of learning japanese ...thing there is

Pimsleurs, Rosetta Stone, PDFs, Audio Books, Anything.

Teach me Japanese (Skype: davidh053090 )
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nakishee (Offline)
you bleed pretty, my dear

Send a message via AIM to Nakishee
05-10-2008, 03:32 AM

Learn to read and write the alphabet. I studied hiragana before katakana, but I can't count the number of debates on which one you should start with
A lot of my vocab came to me while learning to read and write.

downloading study guides actually doesnt sound too bad, either

chocolate unicorns and rainbow donkeys everyone...:]
mistress: deathnotegirl
(#4 (permalink))
Old
BakaCrisis (Offline)
(。・_・。)σ

Send a message via AIM to BakaCrisis Send a message via MSN to BakaCrisis Send a message via Skype™ to BakaCrisis
05-10-2008, 03:35 AM

Ok, so this is my "Learn Japanese" Folder on my external, try searching for things labled with these names

Teach me Japanese (Skype: davidh053090 )
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

05-10-2008, 03:54 AM

Here's how Japanese kids go:

Hiragana first. Katakana second. Master these completely and move on to kanji. DO NOT depend on romaji. Nothing important is ever written in romaji (books , magazines, websites, etc...)