JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
kawaiitori (Offline)
JF Regular

hiragana, katakana or kanji? - 07-31-2008, 11:15 AM

I am just starting to learn japanese and know a bit of hiragana and I was wondering if I should carry on with that or go to katakana or kanji instead?

which is most commonly used?

please help if you can ^_^

kawaii tori

^_^
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Henbaka (Offline)
Dark Passenger

07-31-2008, 11:58 AM

First learn both hiragana and katakana, as you can learn them pretty fast and they're not that hard. Then sink your teeth into Kanji...

Learning kanji without knowing hiragana is both weird and kinda unrealistic.

なんでやねん!
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Hackimoto (Offline)
Fighting the blues

07-31-2008, 01:51 PM

I started by learning the Katakana because I knew it was the first thing they learn is school. Then I moved on to the Hirigana which is just slighty harder I think. So If you already know them then Katakana should be easy. It may feel redundant but it's worth it to know even though it's not used as commonly. In fact I sometimes almost forget a few of them because I see them a lot less often. Kanji is a continuous struggle, and as I've said to others before the best thing to do is learn the radicals which are the most basic word forms which are combine together to make bigger words. sort of like english words such as 'circumnavigation'. It's a big word made up of little words.
Here are some sites which may help you. I wish you good fortune in your studies.

C:\Users\Public\Documents\learning\Kanji Radicals.mht
C:\Users\Public\Documents\learning\Kanji by Grade.mht

(#4 (permalink))
Old
allie2590 (Offline)
I am the White Testament

07-31-2008, 01:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackimoto View Post
C:\Users\Public\Documents\learning\Kanji Radicals.mht
C:\Users\Public\Documents\learning\Kanji by Grade.mht
Those are addresses for files on your computer. They don't work on the internet.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
godwine (Offline)