JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   What is the best way to learn Japanese? (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/23604-what-best-way-learn-japanese.html)

AnimeBaby112 03-07-2009 04:55 PM

What is the best way to learn Japanese?

I have been learning Hiragana and Katakana first. So I can just read them and figure out what the words sound like...But I would like to know how you guys learned, if there's a really good way to learn.

lucagalbu 03-07-2009 05:15 PM

I'm still a beginner in Japanese... but I've started learning hiragana and katakana, than I studied some basic grammar and now I'm learning kanjis by grades, i.e. kanjis are divided into 6 grades that Japanese schoolchildren should learn for each year of elementary school. I started studying (and I'm still studying) the first level, then I will study the second etc.
I also look for movies with subtitles to learn the vocabulary (e.g. Final Fantasy advent children has both the audio and the subtitles in Japanese)

SHAD0W 03-07-2009 09:17 PM

My god.. how many times!

Subtitles help do not! words mixed up are!!!!

And most of the time, they LIE.

Starairi 03-07-2009 09:29 PM

Really? The language spoken and the subtitles in the same language would usually be the same? At least that's what I thought.
If I where going to sub something norwegain in norwegain, I'd use the same words as spoken...

That's what lucagalbu meant, right?

SHAD0W 03-07-2009 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Starairi (Post 681974)
Really? The language spoken and the subtitles in the same language would usually be the same? At least that's what I thought.
If I where going to sub something norwegain in norwegain, I'd use the same words as spoken..

You'd think so, right? but alot of the time they change it. You wouldnt be able to pick up on it though unless you already had a grasp of the language.