JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
JustMe (Offline)
New to JF

Hi. Im trying to learn Japanese but Im finding it really difficult - 05-31-2009, 08:02 AM

I am trying to learn to speak japanese and hopefully at some stage learn how to read it properly. Im starting with romaji but im having a hard time remembering anything. i dont take classes bacause i live in a small town and we dont have anything like that so im trying to learn out of books. Its a bit overwhelming seeing how many different characters and words there are. Is it possible to learn it properly out of a book or teaching yourself? Does anyone have any tips on remembering anything?
Thankyou
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Scoob94P (Offline)
JF Regular

05-31-2009, 08:12 AM

Hi JustMe,

I'm self taught, i'm no where near fluent but I have been slowly learning for a few months now.

Yesterday, even though the first few chapters are a bit beyond my level, I started working on the 'genki' textbook.
It is very useful and gives you lots of background information.

To remember the characters (hiragana and katakana) to begin with I made flashcards. You can do a hiragana/katakana drill online where you do virtual flashcards, but i actually wrote every single one out *feels stupid* but in a way that did help because I took them everywhere and on car journeys etc I could practice.
For Kanji, don't start that until you know the hiragana and katakana because you will need to know the kanji readings, for example this kanji: 今, you may remember the romaji of it being 'ima' but you need to know it in the hiragana aswell, and so, you should learn the letters and sounds as soon as possible.
When you do get to more advanced kanji, I always find it helps to see if it looks like the meaning, for example the kanji for 'forest' to me, looks like a few trees in a forest. Some kanji you just learn because people around you use them a lot and you eventually pick them up.